Bishop's Council

What is the Bishop's Council?

The Bishop's Council is the senior committee of the Diocese and acts in several different capacities.

As the Standing Committee of the Diocesan Synod, the Council:

  • Advises the Bishop in Council
  • Prepares agendas for the Diocesan Synod (delegated to the Business Committee)
  • Develops policy for the Synod to debate
  • Receives tasks from the Synod

As the Directors and Trustees of the DBF it:

  • Is responsible for central diocesan finances
  • Approves the DBF's budget and the annual Report and Accounts before presentation to Synod
  • Is responsible for complying with legislation

As the Diocesan Mission and Pastoral Committee (DMPC) it:

  • Has oversight of Diocesan Deployment
  • Considers and authorises pastoral schemes
  • Interacts with the Deanery Pastoral Committees

Membership of the Council as of May2021

The Council is made up of a mixture of ex-offico, elected and appointed members. The members are:

Ex Officio:

The Rt Revd Dr Christopher Cocksworth (Bishop of Coventry)
The Rt Revd John Stroyan (Bishop of Warwick)
The Very Revd John Witcombe (Dean of Coventry)
The Ven Sue Field (Archdeacon Pastor) 
The Ven Barry Dugmore (Archdeacon Missioner)
Mr Simon Danks (Chair of the DBF)
The Revd Claire McArthur (Chair of the House of Clergy of the Diocesan Synod)
Mrs Helen Simmonds (Chair of the House of Laity of the Diocesan Synod)


Mrs Karen Armbrister 
Mr Christopher Baker
The Revd Stella Bailey 
The Revd Kay Dyer
The Revd Alison Evans 
Mr John Franks
Mrs Jo King
Mr Peter Rogers
Mr Tim Pollard
Mr David Spiers
The Revd Canon Dr David Stone
Dr Yvonne Warren

The Bishop's nominees and co-opted members on Bishop's Council are:

Mrs Joyce Amos
Mr James Styan Kendall
The Revd Clive Hogger
The Revd Kate Massey
The Revd Canon Dr Jill Tucker
The DAC nominee is The Revd Richard Williams

The Secretary to the Bishop's Council is Ruth Marlow, the Diocesan Secretary.