Facts and figures

The following facts and figures were correct in December 2018.

Number of churches

The Diocese of Coventry has 244 churches, of which 8 are inter-denominational.

For this purpose, a church is understood to be a Church of England or inter-denominational congregation which meets in its own Church of England building.

202 (83%) of our churches are listed buildings:

  • 52 (21%) are Grade I
  • 78 (32%) are Grade II*
  • 71 (29%) are Grade II
  •  1 is locally listed

Number of parishes

The Diocese of Coventry comprises 206 parishes.

These parishes are arranged into 127 benefices, which form part of 11 deaneries.

Number of clergy

The Diocese of Coventry has 175 licensed and beneficed clergy. 

129 receive a stipend and 46 are self-supporting. Together they serve the equivalent of 129 full time posts.



Local authorities

The Diocese of Coventry has a geographical area which is roughly equivalent to the City of Coventry and the County of Warwickshire.  Its covers areas in the following local authorities (unitary or county):

  • Warwickshire County Council;
  • Coventry City Council;
  • Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council.
Powered by Church Edit