BCDM Format

The BCDM programme consists of three levels, Pool, Pathway and Plunge.

There are two certificates:

  • Pool and Pathway Certificate
    • complete 10 modules from the Pool and Pathway and submit a minimum of 5 assignments
  • Plunge Certificate
    • complete all six modules and submit a minimum of 5 assignments


Please note that if you are doing BCDM with a view to becoming a Reader, the 6 Pathway modules must be completed as part of your 10 modules in Pool and Pathway.  You are free to choose any 4 from Pool to bring the number to 10.


All modules are listed below:



Exploring discipleship and mission through…

  • The Bible in Five Acts
  • Understanding the Bible - Renewing Your Life
  • Exploring Themes in the Bible
  • God’s Mission and the New Testament
  • The Book of Revelation
  • Forgotten Books of the Old Testament
  • Advent
  • Prayer
  • Music
  • Creation Care
  • Digital Issues Facing Christians Today
  • Introducing Christian Ethics
  • Leading Small Groups
  • Discovering and Using Our Spiritual Gifts
  • Needs-based Evangelism
  • Leading Worship Services
  • Loving Difficult People
  • Preaching Better



Developing discipleship and mission through...

  • Mission-Shaped God
  • God’s Mission and the Old Testament
  • Jesus and the Gospels
  • Paul’s Life, Mission and Letters
  • Encountering God: Spirituality
  • We Believe: The Creeds as an Introduction to Faith and Prayer



Going deeper in discipleship and mission with…

  • Mission in the Church of England
  • John’s Gospel
  • Prayer
  • The Prophet Ezekiel
  • The Letter to the Romans
  • The Kingdom of God


If you are soon to be licenced as a Reader, you will be invited to participate in Preparing for Admission as a Reader, at which point you will explore and complete assignments for:

  • Worship, Spirit, Place
  • Liturgy and Worship
  • Being the Church
  • Preaching
  • Leading in a Community
Powered by Church Edit